Paleontological expedition to the Madygen geopark. Southwest Tien Shan

The expedition will take place from August 1 to August 15

Madigen and the Sary-Too Mountains are located in the southwestern Tien Shan in Kyrgyzstan. These unique places remain untouched by tourists. Madygen – is a region with extensive development of Mesozoic formations creating outstanding natural landscapes – Bedlends. Madigen is a vivid and classic example of the Mesozoic (MZ) period on the Eurasian continent. Madigen is known in the world of paleontological science as an area with rare representative representatives of the main and rare forms of fossil fauna. Here, isolated instances of some types of thanatocenoses were found, which made it possible to reconstruct the paleogeographic and geological events that took place here millions of years ago and which became outstanding discoveries that made it possible to reconstruct the geological history of the vast territories of the Earth.

The mountains of Madigen amaze with their beauty! Madigen is an outstanding landscape that must be preserved for future generations and science. These are landscapes for aesthetic enjoyment. The most common representatives of the fossil fauna in Madigen are bivalves of the Bivalvia class. Quite powerful layers composed of representatives of this species indicate their mass extinction in the Triassic (T).

It is important to note the worldwide fame of this region for unique and unique paleontological finds in the world. For example: Sharovipteryx (Sharovipteryx mirabilis) – who lived during the Triassic period 242-227 million years ago. One of two species in the family Sharovipterygidae and the only known representative of the genus Sharovipteryx. Known for the only fossil found in the tract Madigen, therefore, it is assumed that he lived in the territory of modern Central Asia.

The vicinity of Madigen is a territory where the Paleozoic (Silurian, Devonian, Permian) and Mesozoic geological layers (Triassic, Jurassic and Cretaceous) are widespread. This territory has world significance describing a long period of geological history. Therefore, at present, Kyrgyz scientists and officials are working to ensure that this territory becomes a UNESCO geopark.

We invite paleontologists and geologists to take part in an expedition to southwest Kyrgyzstan to study the paleontology of Madigen. Here is the canyon, which is formed in Devonian limestones, which contains sediments that reflect the tectonic evolution of the region. There is also the ancient Kan-i-Gut cave mine and metallurgical complexes, where ore was extracted for the production of coins on the Great Silk Road. There are amazingly beautiful geological landscapes that can surely become a UNESCO geopark.

The objectives of the expedition:

– Study of fossil fauna,
– Study of the geological structure
– Assessment of the region as a potential geopark.

We invite those who wish to take part in the expedition from August 1 to August 15 in 2020. For research, we get all the necessary permits from the state. We want to organize a field camp in the tract Madigen – poplar grove with karst springs. Other expedition dates are considered. Madygen is an excellent training ground for students who can study geology, structural geology, historical geology, paleontology, stratigraphy and more.

Those wishing to participate in the expedition can write to the address: info@geoexplorersclub.com

Description of the Madigen Formation

Photos around Madigen

  • Meeting and seeing off at the airport
  • Accommodation in hotels (3 *) according to the program (twin rooms)
  • Tents
  • A large tent for the kitchen and dining room
  • Three meals a day for the whole program
  • Transport according to the program
  • Guide-expert
  • Cook
  • Entrance fees to reserves
  • Camp equipment (chairs, tables, tents, etc.)
  • Consumables (water, gas, etc.)
  • International flight to Bishkek and back
  • Personal equipment
  • Single room accommodation
  • Cost of visa and consular services
  • Personal expenses in hotels: bar, international calls, etc.
  • Insurance
  • Any changes to the program

Price on Request

Price depends on the number of participants

Participate in the expedition

Палеонтологическая экспедиция в геопарк Мадыген. Юго-Западный Тянь-Шань

Экспедиция запаланирована на август

Мадыген и горы Сары-Тоо расположены в юго-западном Тянь-Шане в Кыргызстане. Эти уникальные места остаются нетронутыми туристами. Мадыген — представляет собой местность с обширным развитием мезозойских образований создающих выдающиеся природные ландшафты – бэдленды. Мадыген – это яркий и классический пример мезозойского (MZ) периода на Евроазиатском континенте. Мадыген — известный в мировой палеонтологической науке, как район с редкими репрезентативными представителями руководящих и редких форм ископаемой фауны. Здесь были найдены единичные экземпляры некоторых видов танатоценозов, которые позволили реконструировать палеогеографические и геологические события, происходившие здесь миллионы лет назад и которые стали выдающимися открытиями  позволившими реконструировать геологическую историю огромных территорий Земли.

Горы Мадыгена поражают своей красотой! Мадыген это выдающиеся ландшафты, которые необходимо сохранить для будущих поколений и науки. Это ландшафты для эстетического наслаждения. Наиболее распространёнными представителями ископаемой фауны в Мадыгене, являются двустворчатые моллюски класса Бивалвия (Bivalvia). Довольно мощные слои сложенные представителями данного вида свидетельствуют об их массовом вымирании в триасе (T).

Важно отметить всемирную известность данного района по уникальным и единичным в мире палеонтологическим находкам. Например: Шаровиптерикс (Sharovipteryx mirabilis) — живших во времена триасового периода 242-227 млн. лет назад. Один из двух видов в семействе Sharovipterygidae и единственный известный представитель рода Sharovipteryx. Известен по единственной окаменелости, найденной в урочище Мадыген, поэтому предполагается, что он обитал на территории современной Средней Азии.

Окрестности Мадыгена – это территория где распространены палеозойские (силур, девон, пермский периоды) и мезозойские геологические слои (триасовые, юрские и меловые). Эта территория имеет мировое значение описывающая длительный период геологической истории. Поэтому, в настоящее Кыргызские учёные и чиновники работают над тем, чтобы данная территория стала геопарком ЮНЕСКО.

Мы приглашаем палеонтологов и геологов принять участие в экспедиции на юго-запад Кыргызстан для изучения палеонтологии Мадыгена. Здесь расположен каньон, который образован в девонских известняках, в котором содержатся седименты, отражающие тектоническую эволюцию региона. Здесь также находится древний пещерный рудник Кан-и-Гут и металлургические комплексы, где извлекали руду для производства монет на Великом Шёлковом пути. Здесь удивительно красивые геологические ландшафты, которые уверенно могут стать геопарком ЮНЕСКО.

Основная цель экспедиции:

  • — Исследование ископаемой фауны,
  • — Исследование геологического строения
  • — Оценка региона как потенциального геопарка.

Мы приглашаем желающих принять участие в экспедиции с 01 августа по 15 августа в  2020 году. Для исследований мы получаем все необходимые разрешения от государства. Мы хотим организовать полевой лагерь в урочище Мадыген – тополиная роща с карстовыми родниками. Рассматриваются другие даты экспедиции.

Желающие принять участие в экспедиции, могут писать на адрес: info@geoexplorersclub.com

Описание Мадыгеновой свиты

Фото из урочище Мадыген

  • - Встречи и проводы в аэропорту
  • - Размещение в гостиницах 3* согласно программе (двухместное размещение)
  • - Палатки для проживания
  • - Большая палатка для кухни и столовой
  • - Трех разовое питание в течение всей программы,
  • - Транспорт согласно программе,
  • - Гид-эксперт,
  • - Повар,
  • - Входные билеты в заповедники
  • - Аренда оборудования
  • - Стоимость международного авиа перелета до Бишкека и обратно
    - Аренда снаряжения
    - Доплата за одноместное проживание
    - Стоимость визы и консульских услуг
    - Личные расходы в гостинице: бар, международные звонки
    - Страховка
    - Любые изменения по программе

Цена по запросу

Цена зависит от количества участников

Участвовать в экспедиции