Western Tien-Shan is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List

Western Tien-Shan is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. This decision was made at the 40th session of the UNESCO World Heritage Committee in Turkey from July 10-17 2016. Tien-Shan is a unique natural heritage. Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan occupy the cross-border area. The Western Tien-Shan is part of one of the largest mountain systems of Central Asia and the world. The transboundary territory of the Western Tien-Shan has unique wild landscapes as well as a diverse flora, fauna and untouched and unexplored places. Endemic animals and rare endemic plants live and grow here. The Western Tien-Shan is of global importance, as it is the place of origin for a number of fruit tree species and is distinguished by a wide variety of forests with unique flora. There are several reserves in the Western Tien-Shan: In Kazakhstan – the Karatau Reserve, the Aksu-Zhabaglyn Reserve, and the Sairam-Ugam National Park. In Uzbekistan – the Chatkal reserve. In Kyrgyzstan – the Sary-Chelek reserve, the Besh-Aral state reserve, the Chatkal zoological reserve, the Padyshat state reserve and the Kan-Achu and Alatay reserves.